The Walls, We Are Dancing In


Over the course of seven centuries, the Viennese Hofburg has been growing section by section to its current extent. Initially, constructed as a part of the Viennese city fortification, reconstruction work turned the castle into an imperial residence, when the Habsburg family came to power at the end of the 13th century. Until the 19th century, extension works followed and led to the Imperial Palace’s extent of 18 sections, 19 courtyards and 2.600 rooms, in which approx. 5.000 people are still working, even today.

Nowadays, the Viennese Hofburg is used under the flag of democracy, whereby its palatially rooms not only serve the Austrian Federal President as official residence, also they act as an appropriate setting for cultural services like, museums, congresses, fairs and exhibitions, banquets, ball nights and concerts.

According to the Viennese ball tradition, each year, this very particular charm of the Imperial Palace is used by the student union at BOKU (ÖH BOKU) to invite in association with BOKU’s rectorate to a splendid ball night, the so called BOKU Ball. Therefore, all the night through the Hofburg belongs to friends of the University of Natural Resources and Life Science, who then reanimate the Imperial Palace’s walls once more.

All roads lead … to Hofburg.

Subway: Line U3, station Herrengasse

Tram: Line 1, 2 and D, station Burgring

Bus: Line 1A und 2A, station Michaelerplatz

You can find the Viennese public transport timetable here.

If you arrive by car, you can use the parking area at Heldenplatz, in front of the Hofburg, but consider that there is a limited amount of free spots. Otherwise there is another parking possibility at the Opera Garage, which is close-by.

Additional information can be found on www.hofburg.com.

Where to smoke?

For smoking enthusiasts, there will be a smoking lounge established, in the “Gardehof”, to where you will be directed by signposts.

In all other rooms, please consider the general smoking ban at public spaces imposed by §13 of the tobacco law, which includes not only cigarettes and suchlike, but also E-cigarettes. Hereby, every visitor of the Hofburg is actively contributing to its preservation.

In den Gemäuern, in denen wir tanzen



Über sieben Jahrhunderte hinweg entwickelte sich die Wiener Hofburg Trakt um Trakt zu ihrer heutigen Größe. Anfangs als Wehranlage der Wiener Stadtbefestigung gebaut, begannen mit Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts die Umbauarbeiten, die sie zur Residenz der Habsburger machten. Kontinuierliche Ausbauten und Erweiterungen der Burgtrakte führten dazu, dass der Gebäudekomplex zu seiner gegenwärtigen Größe von 18 Trakten, 19 Höfen und 2.600 Räumen, in denen noch heute rund 5.000 Menschen wohnen und arbeiten, anwuchs.

Heute steht die Hofburg ganz im Zeichen der demokratischen Republik, wobei ihre prunkvollen Räumlichkeiten nicht nur als Amtssitz des österreichischen Bundespräsidenten dienen, sondern auch Museen, Kongressen und Tagungen, Messen und Ausstellungen, aber auch Banketten, Bällen und Konzerten einen passenden Rahmen bieten.

Diesen ganz besonderen Charme der Hofburg’schen Gemäuer nutzt auch die ÖH BOKU und lädt gemeinsam mit dem Rektorat jedes Jahr gemäß Wiener Balltradition zu einem eigens organisierten Ball, dem BOKU Ball. Eine ganze Nacht lang gehört somit die Wiener Hofburg den Freundinnen und Freunden der Universität für Bodenkultur, die diesen geschichtsträchtigen Mauern sodann neues Leben einhauchen.

Alle Wege führen … zur Hofburg.

U-Bahn: Linie U3, Station Herrengasse

Straßenbahn: Linie 1, 2 und D, Station Burgring

Bus: Linie 1A und 2A, Station Michaelerplatz

Den Fahrplan der Wiener Linien finden Sie hier.

Falls Sie mit dem Auto anreisen, steht Ihnen eine begrenzte Anzahl an Parkplätzen direkt vor der Hofburg zur Verfügung. Die nächstgelegene Parkmöglichkeit ist die Operngarage.

Mehr Informationen zur Hofburg finden Sie unter www.hofburg.com.

Wo ist denn das Raucherplatzerl?

Für die Raucher und Raucherinnen der Ballgesellschaft, wurde ein Raucherbereich im Gardehof eingerichtet, der Weg dorthin wird am Ballabend mit Schildern beschrieben.

In den übrigen Räumlichkeiten gilt das auf Räume öffentlicher Orte anwendbare generelle Rauchverbot des § 13 TabakG, welches neben Zigaretten und dergleichen auch E-Zigaretten beinhaltet. Hiermit tragt jeder Besuchende aktiv zum Erhalt und Schutz der historischen Hofburggemäuer bei.